To be honest, up until about 6 months ago, I hated everything sci-fi. I had the stereotypical view of nerds and dorks dressing up in Spock ears and running around at conventions or day dreaming about the day when light-sabres become a reality.
       Yet, I am ready to hold my head up high, raise my right hand and say, “I was wrong.” Some of my misconceptions may be right but there had been two shows that have changed this idea for me. JJ Abram’s 2009 Star Trek and Ronald D Moore’s reimagined Battlestar Galactica.
       Before I carry on, I have a confession. I’m quite the feminist but not the strange “Burn Your Bra” kind. I just think that women can do anything that a man can do, and sometimes we do it better. Battlestar Galactica was an instant hit with me. Strong female characters leading the cast. Brilliant, truly amazing. Katee Sackhoff as Kara “Starbuck” Thrace is the most amazing, and spot on casting, I have seen.
       Yet, I couldn’t help but notice in Star Trek that there is only 1 females that has any significance. Uhura. Even then her role is limited and she is more often then not overshadowed by then strong men around her. Don’t get me wrong, Zoe Salanda is a good actress but she is often lost amoungst the presence of Chris Pike, Zachary Quinto and the witty one liners of Simon Pegg.

